It will be Boro's third consecutive campaign in the competition since it was revamped to include development teams and we are one of four EFL Academy sides to be included along with Stoke City, Swansea City and West Bromwich Albion.

Academy sides from the likes of Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur will also take part along with the senior sides of the 48 EFL Clubs from League One and Two.

The Round One Group Stage draw will take place in July, with the first round of fixtures scheduled to take place week commencing Monday September 3.

A number of minor rule changes have been confirmed for 2018/19 with EFL Clubs now being given the opportunity to name players who are out on-loan at National League Clubs, whilst invited teams will only be able to name two players who are over the age of 21 and have made more than 40 First Team appearances.