Most League Wins And Defeats:

The teams Boro have beaten the most times at the Riverside are Derby County, Bolton Wanderers and Birmingham City, 10 times.

The teams we have lost to most times are Manchester United (10), and Arsenal and Aston Villa (nine).

Biggest League Wins:

8-1 v Manchester City (May 2008) in the Premier League.

6-0 v Swindon (March 1998) in the Championship.

Biggest League Defeats:

1-6 v Arsenal (April 1999).

0-5 v Chelsea (October 2008) and West Brom (September 2009).

Milestone League Wins

The 100th win was 5-1 against Bolton in January 2007; the 200th was 1-0 against Sunderland in April 2017. 

Most Goals In A League Game: 

Fabrizio Ravanelli v Liverpool, August 1996, and Derby County, March 1997
Marco Branca v Bury, April 1998
Afonso Alves v Manchester City, May 2008
Patrick Bamford v Leeds United, March 2018

Most Goals Against In A League Game: 

Luke Moore (Aston Villa) February 2006
Yakubu (Leicester) April 2011
Matej Vydra (Derby) December 2017

Goals In A Season:

The most league goals Boro have scored in a season is 51 in 1997-98, when we were promoted. 

The fewest in a season was just 17 in 2008-09 and 2016-17, when both times we were relegated.

The fewest league goals we have conceded in a season is eight in 2015-16, the last time we were promoted. 

The most we have conceded is 32 in 2010-11 - the highest figure in the last 56 years.

First And Last League Goals:

The earliest goal scored was Barry Robson in 24 seconds against Reading in September 2010, six seconds faster than the previous best, Hamilton Ricard against Wimbledon in April 1999. 

And the latest was by Leeds’ Kalvin Philips in February this year, after 11 minutes of injury time.

The 100th league goal was by Alun Armstrong v Oxford, May 1998. The 500th by Ishmael Miller v Bristol City, November 2012.

And the 700th came from Britt Assombalonga, against this week’s opponents Reading in April this year.

League Yellow And Red Cards:

Boro players have had 33 red cards in the 499 league games. Barry Robson leads the way with three, with Dani Ayala, Gianluca Festa, Ugo Ehiogu and Franck Queudrue each with two.

42 opposition players have been sent off. No-one has had a red card twice, but Ray Parlour has the unique distinction of one both for and against Boro here.

Manchester United's 3-0 win in the final game of 1995-96 made the Riverside the only ground where the title has been decided (and the trophy presented) in its first season.   

The only side to have been relegated at the Riverside is Barnsley, when they lost 3-1 in April 2014, though Watford in May 2000 and Doncaster in May 2012 played when already down.

Next up at the Riverside...
Boro v Reading
Saturday 14 September. KO 3pm

Buy tickets online